Americas Challenge to begin in London, Ontario

  • Glenn Howard at the World Men's Curling Championship 2012 Photo: © WCF / Richard Gray

The final Member Association to compete at the World Men’s Curling Championship 2018 will be decided in the coming days as Canada and Brazil go head-to-head in the Americas Challenge.

The Challenge will be contested in conjunction with the 2018 World Financial Group Continental Cup, in London, Ontario, Canada between 11 and 13 January.

Though Canada are the defending champion nation of the world men’s title, because the United States are hosts of the next edition – in Las Vegas, Nevada [31 March-8 April] – a challenge can be made for the second Americas Zone place by another Member Association in that zone.

This is the first time Canada and Brazil have met in the best-of-five Americas Challenge. The first game will be played on Thursday (11 January) evening at 19:00.

The full schedule is:

Game one: Canada v Brazil – Thursday 11 January at 19:00
Game two: Brazil v Canada – Friday 12 January at 14:30
Game three: Canada v Brazil – Friday 12 January at 19:00
Game four: Brazil v Canada – Saturday 13 January at 14:30 (if necessary)
Game five: Canada v Brazil – Saturday 13 January at 19:00 (if necessary)

All times are Eastern Standard Time.

Canada will be represented in this event by four-times world men’s champion Glenn Howard. His team are third Adam Spencer, second David Mathers and lead Scott Howard. Brazil are led by Marcelo Mello and are made up of third Scott McMullan, second Marcio Cerquino, lead Filipe Nunes and alternate Sergio Mitsuo Vilela.

To engage with the World Curling Federation on social media in the build to the World Men’s Curling Championship 2018 follow it on Twitter, Instagram (@worldcurling) and Facebook (/WorldCurlingFederation) and use the hashtags when posting: #WMCC2018 #curling